In what of my recent trips to Sephora, I realized I NEEDED this item. I hear Jaclyn Hill rave about this in every couple videos and I gave into the hype. I bought something that says “Water” in the title for $16. To see how I like this product, read on!  

 ***Smashbox Claims per Sephora.com: “Get the benefits of priming, hydration, and sheer radiance with this all-in-one Photo Finish Primer Water. Free of silicone, alcohol, and oil, it’s packed with revitalizing electrolytes that work to reawaken skin and restore moisture. This enriched water instantly absorbs into skin for lasting hydration, leaving skin looking refreshed and ultrasoft while it locks in makeup.”
Packaging: I bought the 1 oz bottle so I could just try this out. It’s in a nice slender bottle which I like. It is small enough that I can just throw this in my bag if I need to. The more expensive bottle is almost 4 oz so to me personally, that is a little big to take with me. It’s in a spray bottle like all other setting sprays. I didn’t actually have luck with the spraying application. I felt like I pressed that nozzle 20 times and the product never actually got on my face. My hair and the chair I was sitting in certainly got wet though. 

Odor: I am including odor because this has NO silicone, alcohol, or oil in it. When I was reading reviews online, a couple of people noticed an odor to this spray. I didn’t actually find any odor to it which I actually really like! With being pregnant right now, my nose is on over drive all the time. It’s really nice not to smell alcohol when spraying something onto my face. 

Feel: As I said in the packaging section, I had a really hard time spraying this. From the very little amount that I can seem to get on my face, it left it very wet for awhile. It didn’t dry as fast as something like Mac’s Fix+. At this moment in my life, waiting for a couple of minutes for this to dry is not a big deal breaker for me. However, I think if you are in a time crunch, you might want to skip over this product or fan your face very fast! 

Lasting power: The lasting power on this isn’t very long. I don’t think it helped my makeup last any longer so I was mostly using it for a hydrating effect. I feel like as soon as I put a light powder to set my makeup, any hydrating feeling I had was lost. I am someone that has to set my foundation and concealer. If you are someone that can skip that step, I think this would feel really good under your makeup. It did for me at least until I put powder on. 

Overall: Overall, I am unfortunately not impressed by this product. I think it’s really expensive and not worth it to be honest. I am happy that I only bought the small bottle. Maybe I just have insanely high hopes, but this product fell short in so many categories. If you want a nice spray that can do all the same things that this claims to do, I would buy Mac Fix+ instead. 


